a writing guy

No More Nanowrimo

I have decided today, that nanowrimo is no more. It’s been a great ride, the last 4 years, however I’ve been able to see it’s warts whilst benefiting from it’s strength. Currently, my warts need removing.

The strength of nano, has given me:

  • discipline,
  • momentum (albeit for a month),
  • pride,
  • speedy fingers,
  • silencing my inner editor,
  • a focus on content,
  • optimism for the future as a writer.

The weaknesses of nano are:

  • the focus on quantity not quality,
  • the absence of commentary on progress,
  • lack of structure, planning & editing,
  • operating in a silo (I failed to get to the nano meet-ups)
  • whittling a good idea
  • completion of writing from beginning to end
  • feedback
  • monetising
  • promotion
So, this means that nano is no more. I may return to do another one, but only after I have successfully completed a full novel, published and offered it to friends to read/sell.
One month out of the year isn’t much to sacrifice, but it takes 11months of planning. Right now, I do not need another first draft on my hands. I need a completed novel.
My love of nano will remain, as will my precious hoodie, my donations towards the project and my enthusiasm for any budding novelist to take the same path I did in order to develop a writing routine with great rewards. What now?
Look at the weaknesses above. Every one of those will be my focus.
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

